Timothy Timothy

Cycles

In Uncategorized on December 4, 2011 at 12:59 am

I have to give up on today.

But I haven’t given up on life like I normally do when I feel so internally awful.

When a day passes by and nothing “productive” happens, no studying, no composing, no exercising, I let myself die on the inside because maybe I deserve it for wasting a day away.

But maybe, just maybe I need to learn more about myself.  Maybe I need to be more understanding to my own needs.

Maybe I shouldn’t be analyzing how great or terrible my life is on a day-to-day basis.  Confining myself to 24-hour judgment cycles isn’t the answer.

The answers aren’t contained in a 24-hour period.  They’re more likely to be found in the week.  Even more likely in a month.  A year.  A lifetime.  Cycles are long and hard and happen too often to get upset by each and every time a low and depressive pass comes by.

If all I get done today is that I watch a bunch of episodes of Friday Night Lights and sleep, then I’ll be the better for it tomorrow, but betterment will only happen if I’m okay with what’s already happened today.

Let the cycles flow.

  1. We need to take a walk together and discus Philosophy post haste.

Leave a Reply

