Timothy Timothy

A New Standard

In Uncategorized on July 17, 2011 at 2:41 am

I must hold myself up to a new standard, one that doesn’t accept all of the shit that I’ve been putting together.  I can write words, currently I’m obsessed with them, but just because I write them down on paper or screen doesn’t mean it’s art.  It especially doesn’t mean it’s worthwhile to anybody else but me.

My new standard is the old standard.  It’s contained in books written about how form and style should be; it’s what everybody’s expecting.  I will learn and follow the old rules of convention while I write.  That is my new standard.  I’ll stay with it for only so long, but now I must follow it because this standard is higher and more knowledgeable than any I’ve ever set up for myself.

I’ll follow the shadows of the past.  I’ll follow the advice of the masters and innovators.  I have nothing else to work with.  Their words may only be hollow shells of the past; reading them is not at all like talking with the actual person, but even people’s shadows have a certain truth to them.  This is the truth I must entertain for now.

This is the newest standard of old ways, and once I’m done, if ever I am, I’ll never forget how much it benefitted me.

Leave a Reply

